Luxolive.

Pick a perfect cheese
2004-03-24
5:35 p.m.

Today's hotmail links (which I never follow) are making me laugh.

-Aretha Franklin hospitalized

-Makeover for frazzled family

-Pick a perfect cheese

I feel like maybe cheese is more important than the frazzled family. Also, who is this family? Are there very young children who are also frazzled? Like, say, Michelle on Full House, having such a demanding job as Youngest Child that she had to be cloned and could therefore split her work up? She had to reserve her enegery for her furture work in fashion, hawking (hocking?) teen steam queen clothes via Wal-Mart. Clothes that they themselves won't wear. Or didn't wear to their fashion show in Paris recently. Which I know from reading Teen Vogue and Elle Girl at the gym. Buy our stuff, suckers!

Anyway. I talk about the Olsen twins a little too much to be entirely comfortable with the topic in public. So, moving on.

I have been reading an assload lately. I discovered that I can reserve books on-line and my local library will fetch them for me. I didn't know this. So, I've been reserving and reading like a little maniac. There is a discussion about my recent change in spending habits going on at Borders headquarters, much like the one that happened at Starbucks when I realized that, with practice (or, in reality, a husband who was better than me at brewing it), I could have drinkable coffee at home. Sorry, economy. I do not have a job.

I still haven't decided where we're going on vacation this year. (I love how I jump directly to that after admitting that I am not gainfully employed.) I am pretty stuck on Europe, but not where. We went to Ireland for our honeymoon, then we stayed home eating ramen for almost two years while saving for and then buying a house, then we resurfaced and went to England and France (Paris, St. Malo, Channel Islands, London), and then I went to London (and Bath and Cambridge and Paris) with a friend. So, that's all of Europe that we've seen.

Since I just read McCarthy's Bar by Pete McCarthy, I want to go to Ireland again. But that's a trip we want to take when we have kids. Show them their dad's half heritage, drink in bars while they play on the floor, etc. So that can wait. This will be our last kid-free trip until the little hampsters are all colleged and whatnot, so it has to be good. I also would dig it if it were entirely random. While I love big capital cities, my favorite things I've seen abroad have been the smaller, less American touristed towns. St. Malo was gorgeous, and all of the tourists seemed to be French. Guernsey was amazing, and all the tourists were British or French and kept asking us how we heard of Guernsey or decided to come there. I like pockets of the world that don't cater to us.

So, Bulgaria? Portugal? Italy? Switzerland? I have to decide, and soon. I think maybe I will buy a map and throw something at it. Something that will stick. Like maybe a dart.

Christ, I need to eat something. I'm totally raving.

You know who kicks ass? Animal.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com