Luxolive.

Please stay after class.
2004-07-13
5:21 p.m.

Fourteen Days? One Four? Since I made an entry? Oops. I keep thinking, "Diaryland?" but then I realize that I'm in my car and nowhere near my computer. Also, I haven't had much to say lately. Hot. Hang curtains? Paint samples. Life exciting.

So, let's talk about The WW. It is amusing me today.

I like the Tuesday night meeting, but not the Tuesday morning meeting, but sometimes I get gripped by the OH MY GOD I WEIGH LESS RIGHT THIS SECOND feeling and I dash off to the morning meeting without eating. This week was going to be a tight squeeze with the loss (I eeked out a .2 due to the fact that I ate everything in sight this week) so I went to the morning meeting despite fearing the regular meeting leader. She's nice, but she hugs. I don't hug, really. Also, she ate a whole fruit cake once, which she recounts every. single. Tuesday. Possibly also Thursdays. Her whole schtick is a monologue, and it's almost always word for word the same, and it doesn't interest me. At all. Except maybe in a tiny little budding sociologist sort of way.

Anyway, so I went. And the normal leader was on vacation, and the one that I like from Tuesday nights was filling in. Score, I thought, I'll stay. Plus, I'd earned a ribbon for losing 20 pounds and I take an odd sort of pride in my ribbons and my keychains and all that.

I like the night lady because she actually lets the attendees speak, and normally the fellow attendees have good ideas and it's interesting to hear what they think. If not helpful, it's at least better than hearing about the fruitcake again.

Today I longed for the fruitcake. Fruitcake! Come back!

Anyway. The leader was explaining how there was such a thing as too few calories, but she didn't seem to actually understand why this is, and people kept asking questions and then other people attending the meeting kept answering them, and everyone was completely wrong and talking out of their asses and I felt like I was trapped in a 1982 Cosmo diet article. At one point, one lady was explaining how you can specifically burn the fat on your hips. It involved some sort of kicking motion, from what I could gather. I wanted to yell out something like, "If you cut off a limb you'll weigh less!"

I'm not a big fan of the meetings sometimes, but they're always comedy goldmines. Like the time the leader asked for tips and people were saying things like, "I like the new Starbucks Lite Frappuccino!" "I find that if I exercise I sleep better!" and then one lady got all caught up in the moment and the positive murmuring that all these suggestions were generating, and called out: "I chew up cookies and spit them out!" The whole room went silent and her face went from hopeful to confused and the leader said, "Hmmm. Please stay behind and talk to me after the meeting." Haa.

Good times.

If you're not all watching Degrassi: The Next Generation, you should be.

Okay! Well, I'm off for an east coast tour in a few days, so peace out.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com