Luxolive.

Or I might just mutter a lot.
2004-02-07
7:34 p.m.

Oh, today ruled. It involved large amounts of sushi and a used book store. I cleaned the house all day, true, but then I bought used books for store credit and then split the following with my husband:

-an Alaskan roll (crab, avacado and cucumber topped with salmon)

-a shrimp tempura roll

-yellowtail nigiri

-tamago nigiri

-a spicy tuna roll

Um, yum? I haven't had sushi since we left Massachusetts, and I haven't had fish sushi since before baby attempts (which is off until my next check-up) and DAMN. I love sushi. We went here, and it was good. Not as fabulous as old Melrose Sushi (BYOB and within walking distance, plus free delivery), but great.

Anyway, so then I bought books. At the most fantastic used book store in town, you can make requests and then they let you know when it comes in. So we just got Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer for 13 bucks. Boo-yes, my friends.

We were going to go see Mystic River, but we bought active yeast for beer making and thus had to hoof it home to refrigerate it. Now we're too daunted by the idea of making it all the way back across town. This week is the Tucson Gem and Mineral show, and therefore all the tourists are here, and so I don't feel like battling them for space should we go out. Plus I don't like leaving the house so I like to flog the tourist complaint as an excuse not to go. I mean, I've lived here for practically 5 minutes, so I'm barely past tourist status myself.

In other news, my dad and stepmother are coming to stay with us next week. They'll be here for about 5 days. I'll give my husband my password to post an entry here if my father and I kill each other. Ha. We get along well, so long as we don't spend more than 3 days in a row together. I fear that my housekeeping may not be up to par, and that may lead to a Big Trouble in Little China style throwdown. Or I might just mutter a lot. We'll see.

They've never stayed with us before. For a while there, we were in a one bedroom apartment (shout out to Davis Square, the "Paris of the '90s" (hahahahaha), which was supposedly near our squalid place), and that obviously didn't work. Then we were in a house without a second bed and my brother got a Marriot discount so they stayed there instead. And now we're here. And I bought a second bed last week. And they're coming. And I'm scared.

And, one more thing. I found a job I wanted. So I applied. And now I'm scared I'll get it and I'll have to work full-time. And it doesn't sound like a fun position, to be honest, but it's for an organization that I really believe in, so I would really like to work there. Woo?

Fun Linky!

Here are all the countries I've visited:


How exciting am I, with my France, Japan, England, Ireland, US, Canada and Mexico? I love that I get credit for Saskatchewan when I've only been to Niagra Falls and Toronto, but whatever.

You can make your own map here. Fun!

Okay, back to weekend.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com