Luxolive.

I wish my hair didn't move at all.
2004-02-03
3:28 p.m.

This morning I went to a spinning class for the first time in more than a year. I like spinning, but my last gym's schedule didn't make it happen for me. Anyway, so it's been a while. So I went. I dug out my special padded shorts and lumpily put them on (padding? in the ass area? good idea!) I had forgotten with all my running and elliptical that I have Freakishly Short Arms. Since I don't generally run on my hands. Though maybe I should. Toughen them up, maybe.

Anyway, so on the bike, arms matter. You have to reach forward and hold bars far, far ahead of you. I felt like a spastic kangaroo. It wasn't helping matters that my bike's handlebars weren't adjusting no matter how hard I tried. Once I realized it was going to be a problem, I was boxed in by other spinners, and there was nothing to do but ride. And now my arms kill. Are they even supposed to?

Also worth noting is that the instructor rapped. I looked away. It was cringeworthy in a way that I only thought Teen Witch could be. Speaking of Teen Witch, did you know that the badass rapping kid in that movie is Robert Blake's son? That cracks me up. Everything about that movie cracks me up. Especially at the very end where the main character gets dipped and her hair doesn't move AT ALL. Awesome.

I wish my hair didn't move at all. When I went for that look, I didn't really have the whole picture in mind, so I would just make my bangs really stiff and the rest of my hair stayed normal. At the time, I was really upset that I couldn't get my bangs really big, but looking back at yearbooks, I'm really glad I wasn't the master. I remember that my sister once all wistfully said to me, "Your hair has so much style, mine is just there." My sister had this gorgeous all one length long curly hair. I had the 1992 big bangs. She was the Drew Barrymore in The Wedding Singer, the only person who looked normal in retrospect. Nice.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com