Luxolive.

Please enjoy this educational display, and don't forget to borrow the Thriller album or Shel Silverstein books.
2003-09-17
10:15 a.m.

Okay, so, moving along on the 50 things.

12-21

12) Back to the pig collection: They were once featured in a display at my local childhood library. Dear Patrons: Here is a large number of some kid's pigs. They range from ceramic to plastic to plush to pewter, and they serve purposes such and shaking the salt and pepper to simply shedding light on the trials and tribulations of The Pig. Some of them were purchased at the now defunct (I hope) Hog Wild store in Fanieul Hall. Please enjoy this educational display, and don't forget to borrow the Thriller album or Shel Silverstein books, like the pig owner always does. Love, The Library.

13) Ever had Westminster Crackers? Said library was in the town that the building on the package is in, and yet they don't make the crackers there anymore. Now they are manufactured in Vermont. But I used to march past that old factory in Memorial Day parades, in my Brownie uniform. Okay then.

14) This morning my biggest cat (all 21 pounds of him) stepped on my both my boobs, then my throat, then he stood on my hair and sat on my nose. Literally anus to nose. It was such a rude awakening. But, hey, I was up! Thanks, Mav Man, feline alarm clock.

15) I've been to the following 26 states. The remaining 24 are on my list of things to do eventually, maybe.

Arizona

California

Connecticut

Delaware

Florida

Georgia

Illinois

Kentucky

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

North Carolina

Pennsylvania

Oregon

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Tennessee

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington (State and DC)

16) Some of those states shouldn't count. For example, a good chunk of the east coast was acquired on a train trip from New York to Florida when I was 17. TN and KY (haha) were barely a 24 hour trip when I attended a funeral. Michigan is from a few Detroit layovers. But, I've physically been in these states, and they are mine now.

17) I've been in the following countries:

The Bahamas

Canada

England

France

Ireland

Japan

Mexico

The US (obviously. See #15)

18) Hi, I'm lucky. My parents had a plan in which I put half my allowance away from the day I earned allowance. This was Non-Negotiable. That money was to be used for travel, which I could plan when I turned 16. I ended up spending two weeks in Kyoto with my sister (who was going to school there) when I was 17. It ruled. The end.

19) My family always had exchange students. They ranged from:

19a) Our Japanese exchange student who was basically the nicest person on the face of the earth, and whom we are still in touch with. She taught us to like miso soup (please note: rural Connecticut, McDonalds = ethnic restaurant) and lived with us for a whole year. We've visited her and she's visited us, since.

19b) Belgian kid who had a crush on my sister and who had the extremely uncomfortable assignment of staying with us during the time in which my mom rapidly went downhill.

19c) Ugh. Ha.

20) An eggplant just fell off my shelf and landed on my desk. My office organization skills are maybe not the best.

21) I have a really embarassing weakness for British chick lit. I heard someone call them the Harlequin novels of today. Honestly, I'm in it for the lifts, jumpers, and blast. If I could somehow bathe in something that soothed my anglophile needs, I would. The closest I can get is reading Anna Maxted and Heat magazine, and I'm okay with that. As long as not that may people find out about it. (Hence the fact that I'm telling everyone?)

Okay, more later.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com