Luxolive.

Self-indulgent Internal Dialogue
2003-09-14
3:33 p.m.

Okay, so. Things have been kind of upheaval laced here. As in, I may very well be ditching the house and life here in the outskirts of Boston and moving with the 4 cats and the husband to Tucson. As in Arizona. This both terrifies me and makes me really happy. I would be leaving my house that I adore (and have lived in for less than a year: ha); my family, which is nearly all local (but I don't see them that much anyway); my neighborhood and town that I really lucked out on (they're all so nice! And I just went to the town fair, which inexplicably had a booth staffed by Elvis impersonators: This is My Kind of Town.). But. I would also be leaving the insane Boston housing market that makes my husband and I total wage slaves, and a job which I hate most of the time, and a job which sends him to far off places about a third of the time. In Tucson, we could have a house with a mortgage (ONE) which didn't cripple us, and I could NOT WORK and GO TO SCHOOL FULL TIME. If I so chose. Oh and also my god.

Anyway, the place that's wooing him (please note that my husband is a genius and a marketable one at that) is flying us out there later this month for a gander at the place. Then they'll see if they like him and we like them. (This makes the interview process sound like two dogs sniffing each other's asses. Which it kind of is, no? Note to self: wipe ass on future job applications. Or, possibly don't.) Then we'll come back here and go into Serious Thought Mode. But, it really comes down to this: Where will our quality of family life be the best? If AZ means zero to very little travel for him, then that's a deal maker. If it means that I could go get my masters and not work full time at the same time and not go into further student loan debt to do so, then, well, damn. If it also means that I can have a pool, then so be it.

If nothing else, free trip! We've implemeneted an out clause, so either of us can pull the plug on it for any reason, just in case we get a rubbed the wrong way feeling about it. But, mainly, whooo so far. I love what I've been reading (they have an Ethiopian restaurant!) and I can't wait to check it out. The end.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com