Luxolive.

Llove Lloyd's Llama. What?
2003-07-07
3:21 p.m.

My dad used to say that if I were a city, I would be Babylon. As in Babble-on. Because I could never stop talking. My dad is Such! A! Card! Incidentally, I'm wondering why he didn't call me back at all this weekend. Dad, can you speak to this issue? I fear that I have annoyed and alienated everyone in my life. Either that or I never check my home voice mail. In other news, why do we even bother having a landline? We pay 30+ bucks a month and never use it. My husband insists that we keep it because he wrote it on some work things as his contact info 6 months ago. That is not worth 30 bucks a month, says me. Especially when cell phones are an additional 68. I shudder at my bills. Then I turn and run.

Okay then.

Harry Potter Redux

Spoilers May Live Here! Beware!

I feel like talking about this a little bit more. A friend of mine just finished reading it and I resurfaced all of my thoughts to share with her and decided to post them here as well.

So I speed read this whole book like a mad lady. Like a Harry Potter obsessed crazy person. I Needed To Know who died before some 12 year old told me like the party crashing kid who told me about Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy all at once, just to watch me cry. Little did he know that my older sister would make him cry when she found out what he'd done. Even farther off topic, I found out pretty young. Even farther, I'm really looking forward to duping my own kids. It will be so nice to have pure joy and belief in magic around the house.

Okay, what?

Anyway. I loved the book. I just typed lloved, like a llama or Lloyd Dobbler. And, coincidentally, yes, like llamas and Lloyd Dobbler, this book is on my list of Favorite Things. After absorbing it, I have decided that it's my favorite so far, which is pretty tough to pull off, because book #1 has the huge point in its favor of being the introduction to the life altering phenomenon (I am a HUGE DORK! I am the person the Onion makes fun of! I end sentances with prepositions!) that is the whole series. But this book made Harry more real, and I love him even more now that he's real.

Also, Ginny, over-confident to the point of ALMOST annoyance, is my favorite character. I love that she takes no shit from the Pottah. I almost just made some snitch reference that would have been meant in a cute way but would have read in a perverted way, and since this is a kids book, I refrained. Anyway, I love that she's rocking the casbah now. Also, Fred and George are so hilarious and I adore them, though I maintain that they were horribly miscast in the film version and I wish that they could pick someone else in retrospect. They're supposed to be stocky, not lanky. Anyway. Mental picture fights to stay same in spite of film. Mental picture fading.

I found myself getting irrationally angry at charcters, and think that maybe some of them are a little too dark in an unexplained way. Like Dolores Umbridge was a little bit too evil to be believed, and it made it feel a little bit campy. She could be played by a very evil drag queen. Like the drag queens that stole Christina Applegate's car in Don't Tell Mom The Babysitter's Dead. But anyway.

I won't say who died because I don't want to spoil it for anyone. But I will say that I'm in denial and feel like no one is reallly dead. They'll make a cameo again someday. Or not. But pretend with me that they will. Thanks in advance.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com