Luxolive.

Reading Update and Babble
2003-06-26
3:43 p.m.

So, I took on amblus' Summer Reading Challenge. Actually, I even said that I'd take it about 15 steps further and read not one, but all of the books she recommended. Yipes? I'm woefully behind, unless you count summer as just starting the other day, which I do.

I have to read (I've greyed out the books I've finished or already read):

Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

Harriet The Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Time and Again by Jack Finney

The Stand by Stephen King

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

For Kicks (or anything else) by Dick Francis

A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith

Grand Ambition by Lisa Michaels

Emma by Jane Austen

Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand

To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

Girl With The Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

I've pretty much been reading everything but things on this list lately. Some of (okay, most of) my choices have been cheesy and shameful.

Recently read (note: vacation time included, vacation allows for cheesiness):

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani

Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella

Harry Potter 3 + 4 (to prepare)

I Don't Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson

Various London, Paris, and Channel Island guide books

Um, some other books. I should be better about listing things, since I always forget.

Ugh

I am so uninteresting. I feel like something has leached the interesting from me. I ate so much at lunch today that I think my brain is busy digesting. Bllllllooooat. It involed salmon and dill and creme fraiche and mozzarella/ tomato/ pesto/ basil salad and mini eclairs and zzzzzzz. Yay catered affairs!

Please shop for me. With your own money.

I desperately need work appropriate clothing that will work in the summer. But 1) I hate shopping because a) I look like a tool in everything and b) nothing fits, and 2) I have no money. Suck! But neither of these things mean that magical clothing will appear in my closet.

Today's outfit has pushed things to the breaking point. In a bleary case of seemed like a good idea at the time, I put on black drawstring pants, a green johnny collar shirt, and black trouser socks with red ballet flats. I got to work and realized that I look like a total ass. My shirt is so overly casual that I shouldn't really be wearing it with anything more than khakis and green shirt read shoes = Christmas Dork. God. I really and truly need new clothes, but with the overspend of vacation I'm really having trouble justifying it to myself. But am I going to look like a jackass every day? I long for winter, when my ribbed turtleneck/ trouser combo worked every freaking day. Come back, cool weather!

I have a feeling I'll shop this weekend. I dread it. Screw you, too long pants and too big arm holes!

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com