Luxolive.

Goofus vs. Gallant
2003-05-19
1:33 p.m.

M! I! A!

Where have I been? I honestly can't tell you, because I depend on these entries to keep a record of my own movements. So, basically, last week didn't happen. Or only some of it did. Let's hope I remember interesting rather than asinine.

Highlights

I don't mean Highlights like Goofus and Gallant. Though, speaking of which, Gallant is kind of a tool.

Let's see.

My husband is away for work, and it will be the longest we've ever been apart since our first date. It super sucks. We're at one week down, two to go. Sucks to the travel schedule. I was going to go visit, but he doesn't have a single day off as far as we know, so we can't make any plans. I miss him. PU.

I super screwed up our finances. Basically, we don't balance our checkbook, we just keep a cushion in the account and work from the on-line banking balance. It's worked so far. He usually pays all the bills, so I don't pay much attention to them. Since he's away, I took over, but I didn't realize that he'd paid this massive bill (thousands and thousands of dollars -- travel expenses for work) on-line. So I just paid everything, including my credit card, even though it wasn't due yet. And I overdrew our account. Not all the checks have cleared, and we may be okay (it's a race to the finish -- will the stop payment go through in time? Will the direct deposit clear before a few of the checks?) but we won't know until tomorrow. In the meantime I have a 10$ bill and a lot of guilt. Money runs through my hands like water, and I hate it.

So, because of my bill mailing jackassery, I can't use debit or cash for a while. I'm charging it up, even at the grocery store. So, I head to Costco to see what the fuss is all about, and I fill my cart and get all the stuff we're out of and blah blah blah. An hour and a half later, I head to the checkout, and they don't take Visa. Wha? Amex, cash, or debit. The end. I had to abandon the cart, much like I do at on-line retailers. Crapass. It totally sucked. I want that hour and a half back! It was nice out. Who doesn't take Visa? I checked around and there were no signs or warnings about it. Sucks and ass.

And: I adopted a cat! He's awesome. He is very Moo-like in his markings. I went to the Quincy Animal Shelter after seeing him on their website, and he was all I hoped he would be and more. I went super prepared (mortgage statements, pay stubs, already filled out application, list of references, pictures of Molly getting cozy with Moo to prove that she can live with another cat, and cat carrier with fresh blanket lining it) but tried not to get my hopes up. And then he came home with me! I love him. He's super sweet and curious and not terribly bright. He likes petting and eating and he's not aggressive toward Molly at all. In fact, when she hisses, he just walks away. He's declawed, which I didn't realize until I got him home. Poor little man.

I can't imagine what he's been through, and thank god someone brought him in before he got bitten or hit by a car. He was found darting across a very busy road. Poor little guy. I can't wait to go home and pet him.

That's really all I've been up to. That and yard work. I tore down my window box, because it rotted. Yuck. I also planted grass seed and watered my herb garden. And tore up weeds. I hate weeds. I really need to mow. Jesus, this is boring. I need to think about my entries in advance, I think.

I have to work now. Imagine that.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com