Luxolive.

I have much fear of snakes. Mock me.
2003-04-23
11:47 a.m.

SNAKES! SNAKES! GAH!

I hate snakes. You don't understand. I hate snakes. I am completely and utterly terrified of snakes. There mere suggestion of snakes is enough to make me, ironically, writhe. Gah. TERROR.

Anyway, so I'm innocently plugging through The Little Friend by Donna Tarrt, and it's good, and then all of the sudden it is ABOUT SNAKES. IN DETAIL. FOR PAGES.

I'm all sucked in, so I read even when I know I shouldn't, thinking that it will be a short interlude and not a huge page gobbling plot point. Except it appears to be a big deal to the story. So I'm skipping whole paragraphs and twitching and GAH. Finally I get past the snakes and then the T gets to my stop so I wander home. Where I enter the house through my PITCH BLACK BASEMENT. ON THE FLOOR OF WHICH COULD BE MULTIPLE, ANGRY SNAKES.

So I adultly bolt up the stairs and through the kitchen to the closest light switch and accidentally (but not too hard, thank god) kick the Lucy cat. And I'm sorry about this, but also SNAKES.

If I hadn't been so exahausted, I probably would have stayed up thinking about snakes. But I was sleepy so I didn't. Yay sleep! Boo snakes!

From Whence My Snake Fear?

I think my snake fear stems from a pet garter snake, my dad cutting his finger in an unrelated carrot chopping incident, and me thinking the cute, fun garter snake hurt my big strong dad. I only realized recently that this was Not The Case. Ha?

And so my snake fear is ingrained. But are they not terrifying? GAH! The DETAIL in that book. The WRITHING and the RAGE! The BASEMENTS FULL OF SNAKES.

Shit. There is one under my desk RIGHT NOW. I can't look.

I'm insane. But oh my god they freak me out.

Vay Cay

I put in for my time off! Now we do the dance of joy!

Usually we proclaim that we're going on vacation and then procrastinate and then don't actually go. But now I've put in for the time so we're going! I researched fares and decided on Paris/ Coast of France/ Channel Island/ Paris/ Home. Yay! I have not ever been to France or England. The prospect pleases me. I am all about collecting the passport stamps, and so far my adult one records only one trip to one country, and frankly the stamp is lonely.

I hope there aren't snakes where we're going.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com