Luxolive.

The Iron Age
2003-04-07
10:37 a.m.

Gah

Dear People Who Keep Requesting The My Husband Work At Their Office in California For A Week Or More,

Please Stop.

Thanks In Advance,

The Wife

He's been out there 6 weeks since the beginning of the year, and he just went this morning and now he'll be staying longer and going out more often. I know he has another wife over there, but I WAS FIRST so I should get to keep him more. I just miss him and hate the responsibility of looking after myself and the house all on my own. He usually makes sure that I eat and that I have clean laundry and stuff, and I get used to that level of service. Damn. Well. I'm exaggerating, but I miss him. Okay.

I forgot my book this morning.

And that sucked. I just finished a schlock fest this weekend (Bookends by Jane Green. I am so ashamed. Such an anglophile.) and was looking forward to reading a respectable book (Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk), but I left it on the dining room table. Bah. Then I tried to buy a Globe but there were no more, and I didn't feel up to the Herald. I planned to people watch, but last Friday I accidentally made that really weird uncomfortable eye contact with this girl, and she was sitting RIGHT ACROSS FROM ME. I couldn't look up without seeing her and making eye contact again, and honestly, it was too much for me to deal with at 7:30 in the morning. I do not enjoy accidental eye contact.

In equally asnine news, I finally figured out how to use my iron. I'm 25 years old, I work in a real, respectable job in which one has to wear office-y clothing, and until last night I'd been operating without an iron for about 5 years. I didn't even own one until about two months ago. I was employing the purchase things based on whether or not they need ironing/ tumble dry/ anti-wrinkle spray method. It wasn't pretty.

Anyway, the breaking point was a shirt of the husband's that had a crazy crease in it. There was nothing else we could do, so I whipped out the iron and read the instruction booklet and moved all the bills and lint rollers and stuff off the ironing board. And I ironed. And I LIKED IT. So I ran upstairs and got everything that needed ironing and ironed it all. My pants finally have creases again! It rules. The end.

That is all I have for sharing this morning. I'm hungry and therefore distracted. The end for real.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com