Luxolive.

I'm Insane.
2003-04-02
5:43 p.m.

So. I feel better now.

I found this awesome resource (Cats International's Free Hotline), and when I have some money (which may not be for a while, due to High Cost of Cat Debacle) they are getting a fat donation. Especially if this works out.

Anyway, the woman gave me some ideas to work with, and a time frame (which I SO appreciate, because I suck at deciding for myself) at the end of which I can give up without guilt. I so appreciate having some professional, progressive advice to weigh against the vet's "kitten only!" and the shelter's "give her back!".

So, she's suggested a 3-4 week continued trial, with some new elements.

1. Feliway plugins, which will diffuse the stuff all day, rather than a once a day spray.

2. The Rescue Remedy (the flower essence), which she says "can't hurt."

3. A harness and leash for Lucy so we can hold her back when they're in the same room if Lucy goes to bug her.

4. Kitty Parties (haha), in which we calm them both down and feed them both "something delicious."

5. Play therapy (mostly for Lucy), scheduled twice a day and always done at the same approx. time, in which our goal will be to completely wear Lucy out so she won't be so interested in Molly as a playmate.

6. Make more "safe places" for Molly, so we're going to get or build a cat hotel for her to hang out on top of and observe from.

7. Get a bunch of baby gates and block off a room so they can be separated but can still see each other. Hold aforementioned kitty parties with one on each side of the see through door.

8. Continue to hold them both and pet them both and talk to them soothingly when they're near each other.

Also, she said that we shouldn't yell at Lucy when she's attacking Molly, because when we do, we scare Molly, too.

Okay then. Whoo! Battle Plan! Kitty Parties!

I am officially the crazy cat lady. And I don't see anything wrong with that.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com