Luxolive.

I have very talented friends.
2003-03-27
11:30 a.m.

Entry entry entry entry!!

Dude, who kicked my sporadic entry ass? All the sudden I can't shut up. Maybe I should weblog instead of individual entrying.

It is SO NICE OUT.

Seriously. SO NICE. I would like to release a statement to my current office situation: "SUCK! BASEMENT NO WINDOW SUCK! CRAPASS!"

Okay. I feel better now.

Why, no, I don't feel like donating the tax on this item to my job

Guess what? If one purchases an item for this department with one's own money or credit card (which one is generally forced to do, as getting a check for something in advance or getting billed for something after the fact is something that most places stopped doing, oh, I don't know, a million years ago), one is supposed to know that they must apply in advance not to pay the tax. I mean you have to physically fill out an "I would like to not pay the tax on this item that is for the department out of my own pocket" form. What? Why? Does that make any sense at all?

Since I didn't know this (and how could I not? Since it makes so much sense?) I ended up paying the tax on a digital camera that the department wanted Right Away (thus making the check process a no go). That tax is equal to more than one hour of my pay. So, I have basically just donated that money to the department. Considering that I work overtime nearly every day AND that I had to run all over the freaking city on my offtime (not getting home until almost 9p.m.) to get that camera, I am freaking annoyed. I do not enjoy donating cash to my employers. I've been trying to get the money back, but I've finally been told to just cram it because it's not going to happen. Am I crazy to think that's crazy?

I have very talented friends.

My friend is an author. She has a bunch of books out. Since she's Canadian and the books aren't widely available in America, I hadn't read them. I was going to order them from Amazon.ca but she stopped me and sent me a huge package of her collected works (and candy!). I've been reading them (in public! Publicity! Look at THIS, commuters!) on my way to work, and they're great. And I'm not just saying that because she's my friend, I'm saying that because I am awe that someone that I know in flesh and blood is capable of creating these captivating alternate universes. It was in her head, and now it's in mine! I sound like a gushing dork, but I mean it.

I was reading the first few pages of one of her novels this morning, and I started to tear up. In public. I HATE crying in public. I feel like massive on display dork. I've been trying to cut back on my external fiction cases of crying (I'm looking at you, Johnny 5) but I still couldn't fight back the teary eyes. She's good. She writes real, heartbreaking and clever things. I bow to her.

Here: Go look at her stuff.

Cat Update.

Why can't they just get along? Why is Molly SO SCARED? Lucy just wants to play. Lucy is half her size, so even if she wanted to fight, Molly could crush her AND her spirit. But, instead, Molly hides and shudders and howls. I am waiting for the synthetic pheremones to be delivered, and I have my fingers crossed but my hopes not up.

You should really read this diary. Seriously, this woman is so funny that I laugh out loud while reading it. Every single time. She = #1 Funny.

Hoof Harded

My husband told me about a race horse named "Hoof Harded." Is this true? Because I think it's the funniest thing I've ever heard. (Okay, the funniest thing I heard last night between 10 and 11 p.m.) "And it's Hoof Harded by a nose!"

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com