Luxolive.

Foreign Fast Food Thoughts
2003-03-12
5:09 p.m.

Random Trip!

Okay, so when my husband travels all the time, it sucks. But you know what doesn't suck? Frequent flier miles and hotel points! I'm randomly jetting to LA this weekend for 2 nights, and the only thing we have to pay for is a car rental, one night at the hotel and food. Whoo, warm! So excited.

I will consume the following things:

In n Out burger (potentially multiple)

Trader Joe's Guaca-Mango

Krispy Kreme (they're still in the building process here)

Jamba Juice

RULES. Did I mention that this rules?

I feel like a big whiney jerkass because I've been crying about being broke for a while, and then off I jet. But seriously, folks, I really can't stress how cheaply I am coming by this trip.

The vague exoticness of foreign fast food

It cracks me up that I won't eat at McDonald's or Burger King, but I'm absolutely frothing at the mouth for Popeye's and I think if I actually got an opportunity to eat at Sonic, I'd die. And probably not from the food so much as the excitement.

In-n-out is totally different, though.

In-n-out isn't even really fast food so much as it's a religion. Or not. Overstatement rules! But: Damn. Good Stuff.

I love exotic-to-me regional chains. The last time I was in LA (ah, unemployment and free time) I practically passed out at all of these chains that I'd never even heard of. Fatburger? Togo's? Koo-koo-roo's? WIENERSCHNITZEL? I mean, damn. Why do we not have these things? If we did, I wouldn't want them, but whatever. Not the point. Or, it is the point, kind of.

Anyway. I think the moral of this story is that I wish there was an In-n-Out here. I would treat it like my beloved Chik-fil-a oasis that randomly exists in the Burlington Mall, filling me with glee each time I see it.

I go home now. No more worky.

The Power of Coffee Compels Me - 2005-11-15

- - 2005-10-29

Balls. - 2005-08-03

Random and Chewy - 2005-01-17

No more. - 2005-01-13

template by wicked design

< ? bostonites # >

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com